Wednesday, May 5, 2010

WHL Update

Calgary is up 3-0 in the WHL final against Tri City outscoring them so far 15-2.
Calgary has won 1 league championship (1999).
The last time the league final was a sweep was in 2008 with Spokane beating Lethbridge.
A Tri City win will bring the series back to Calgary for game 5.

Defending Memorial Cup Champion Windsor has won the OHL title.
The last team to win back-to-back Memorial Cup was Kamloops in 94 & 95.

Since the CHL went to a host team being automatically included in the tournament the WHL has won the Memorial Cup being held in a WHL city 8 of 9 times.
83 - Portland won in Portland
86 - Guelph won in Portland
89 - Swift Current won in Saskatoon
92 - Kamloops won in Seattle
95 - Kamloops won in Kamloops
98 - Portland won in Spokane
01 - Red Deer won in Regina
04 - Kelowna won in Kelowna
07 - Vancouver won in Vancouver
10 - Brandon/Calgary/Tri City as per history have to be the favorites for the championship that starts May 14th