Monday, April 29, 2013

WHL Awards on Wednesday

The WHL Year-End Award winners will be announced on Wednesday.

ICE Head Coach Ryan McGill is up for Coach of the Year with Kelowna's Ryan Huska.
McGill was also nominated in 2001-02 and that year the award was won by Bob Lowes.
The ICE have won the WHL Coach of the Year Award 3 of the last 8 years with Mark Holick in 09-10 and Cory Clouston 06-07 and 04-05.

WHL Player of the Year, Four Broncos Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Adam Lowry, Swift Current Broncos
Western Conference – Justin Feser, Tri City Americans

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Seth Jones (Plano, TX), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels
Western Conference – Mac Carruth (Shorewood, MN), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, SK), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Zach Franko (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders
Western Conference – Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, SK), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ryan McGill, Kootenay ICE
Western Conference – Ryan Huska, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Cody Sylvester (Vernon , BC), Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB), Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Saskatoon Blades
Western Conference – Kamloops Blazers

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy
Portland Winterhawks

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy
Brendan Leipsic– (Winnipeg, MB) Portland Winterhawks
Nicolas Petan – (Delta, BC) Portland Winterhawks